Travel News

Detailed Entry Policies of 30 Countries and Regions I

  • Ami Giavazzoli
  • 12 Oct
Detailed Entry Policies of 30 Countries and Regions I

As the COVID-19 epidemic spreads globally, various countries and regions have successively issued tourism-related policies. Among them, there are members who are actively opening up borders and launching plans to pay for sickness, air ticket reimbursement, and hotel discounts for the development of tourism. Many countries and regions are still cautiously watching and planning to gradually open up tourism. Of course, there are still some countries that have no plans to open tourism in the near future due to the fact that the epidemic situation in the country is still unclear. What are the current regulations for inbound tourism in various countries? Tour Wisdom has compiled the inbound tourism policies of 30 countries and regions around the world.

At present, the new crown pneumonia epidemic in Europe is still spreading in the second and third waves. Although many countries do not encourage unnecessary travel, many economies that rely on tourism have planned to open their doors to tourists as soon as possible. From July 1st, people from 15 countries including Japan, Australia, and South Korea will be allowed to enter the European Union.

Asian countries are relatively cautious, and most countries and regions have not yet opened up to foreign tourists. In North America, most areas still require tourists to be quarantined for two weeks. Although in May, Tanzania, which is located in Africa, announced that it would unconditionally welcome tourists from all over the world, other countries and regions across the continent still remain on the sidelines.

United Kingdom

United Kingdom announced the lifting of entry bans from 75 countries. According to the British "Daily Telegraph" on July 2, the British government is planning to cancel the "air bridge" program and list as many as 75 countries as quarantine exemptions for British holidaymakers. It is not yet clear which countries are included in the list. Previously, all foreign tourists must be quarantined for 14 days after entering the country, except for those departing from Ireland, the Channel Islands, or the Isle of Man.


Tourism resumes on July 1. On June 7, the Prime Minister of Georgia announced that the country will resume domestic tourism from June 15 and reopen to foreign tourists from July 1. As a result, Georgia became the first country in the world to officially announce that it will resume tourism.

French Polynesia

Entry with immunization certificate on July 15. French Polynesia announced that it will be open to tourists from all countries from July 15th. Tourists need to undergo a new crown test, present a medical certificate, and purchase international travel insurance within 72 hours before traveling to French Polynesia. Upon arrival, the Ministry of Health and Prevention of French Polynesia will conduct random sampling tests during the visitor's stay, and conduct regular inspections at homestays and hotels. Currently, airlines that can travel to the Tahiti Islands include Air New Caledonia, Air France, Air New Zealand, Air Tahiti, Tahiti Domestic Air, Air France, Hawaiian Airlines, Chilean Latam Air, and the United States. United Airlines.


Foreign tourists need to enter from Athens on July 1. Since July 1, Greece has reopened tourism, allowing foreign tourists to enter Greece from Athens and various cities (including sea). All airports resume international flights. According to the latest passenger entry guidelines issued by the Greek Ministry of Civil Protection, all travelers must submit an (entry) survey form at least 48 hours before entry. All foreign tourists going to Greece need to enter Athens, fill in their contact information and aircraft seat number, and be randomly tested for the virus at the airport.


Italy designs glass compartments and reimbursement of machine wine costs. On the basis of the agreement reached by EU diplomats on the "removal of 15-country entry restrictions", the Italian government has strengthened entry quarantine for non-EU travelers, stipulating that non-EU travelers must undergo a 14-day visit regardless of whether they enter Italy directly or enter through a third EU country. Mandatory isolation before normal social activities and travel can take place. Tourism has always been one of Italy's important industries, accounting for about 13% of GDP. According to statistics, from March to April 2020 alone, the country's direct tourism industry lost as much as 1 billion euros (approximately 7.9 billion yuan). When the European Union put forward a proposal to open up tourism, Italy stepped up quarantine for non-EU travelers while working hard to formulate plans to revitalize the tourism industry.

According to a report in April by Xinhua Times, a company in the Province of Modena even designed transparent plexiglass compartments for tourists to use on the beach, so that tourists can go to the beach with peace of mind. The design has not only been affirmed by the Italian Deputy Minister of Health Sandra Zampa but also said that it will be considered in the health insurance scheme of the holiday plan. In addition, the Times reported that after the closure on May 4, in order to attract tourists, Sicily, a world tourist destination in southern Italy, launched a 50 million euros plan to attract tourists, paying half of the airfare for tourists visiting this year. Fees and one-third of hotel fees.


Japan plans to relax entry and exit restrictions in 10 countries and regions including China and South Korea. Japanese government officials announced on the 10th that entry and exit restrictions were previously set to prevent the further spread of the new crown pneumonia epidemic. Next week, they will negotiate with relevant countries and regions to relax entry and exit restrictions in 10 countries and regions including China and South Korea. The Japanese government has previously announced that it will adjust the entry and exit restrictions of Vietnam, Thailand, Australia, and New Zealand. This adjustment to 10 countries and regions is the second wave of relaxation.

South Korea

South Korea strives to achieve tourism recovery in the summer. According to news reports, the South Korean government has designated June 20th to July 19th as a "special travel period" and has launched an "unprecedented" discount program to attract tourists during this period.

Sri Lanka

Sri Lanka opens from August, inbound tourists stay at least 5 nights. Sri Lanka's tourism department announced earlier that it plans to allow foreign tourists to enter from August 1. Foreign tourists need to apply for a visa online, present a medical insurance certificate, and provide a negative nucleic acid test report before traveling (the test time is within 72 hours before boarding). After landing in Sri Lanka, tourists will be tested for free at the airport, and those who test positive need to be quarantined in designated hotels or hospitals. In addition, Sri Lanka requires inbound passengers to stay at least 5 nights.


Bali may reopen in October. Recently, Bali, Indonesia announced its initial plan to reopen inbound tourism in October.


Don't go to the Southeast. On July 2, the official website of the Chinese Embassy in Turkey made it clear that Turkey has canceled the entry and exit restrictions on foreign travelers due to the new crown pneumonia epidemic.

See More


Leave a reply